Just another WordPress.com weblog

My Love of Art Started in the 1980s

Art, art, art. The first and main expression of my life has been through art in one form or another. I have had my love of art happen through my love of pro wrestling. I was a kid that looked at pro wrestling and loved Hulk Hogan like any other kid in the 1980s. I wanted the toys, bookbags and T-shirts but also wanted more. I wanted to see pro wrestling on a daily and/or hourly basis. This could not happen because I happen to only watch pro wrestle ala WWE but the way of looking at the programming on my television owned by Me Madre (my mother in Spanish aka Espanol) and across the street on Monticello Avenue in Jersey City, New Jersey at my aunt’s house. I watched every pay-per-view at my aunt’s house but there was one occassion that I watched the pro wrestling event at my uncle’s house. One day, I picked up pencils, paper and a pair of scissors. With these items, I made a paper television and moving people for each channel that was turned. The next thing I made was a paper pro wrestling ring with Hulk Hogan and a random bunch of characters that I can not remember the names of. This is funny since I remember a lot of pro wrestling terms and people to this very day. My family was impressed about the way I did my artwork as a child and the fact that I colored inside of the lines. My love of pro wrestling sparked my love of art and all that it entails. Since that time, I taught myself to paint on various mediums, make figures of clay and have a great love for the legacy that Pablo Picasso bestowed unto this world with his artwork. At first glance, I did not like Pablo Picasso but that is when I was a teenager that thought that comic books were the only art that existed. It took me one day in a public library to change my mind on his artwork. I spent at least 2 hours that day finding everything that I could find about him and his works. About one year ago, I came across a book entitled “Picasso at 90.” It is an oversized art book on all of his artworks at 90 and it still inspires me to this very day. Inspiration has led into motivation. I have made my past two years solely about making my artwork mean something and finding out the style I want the world to see. In my career, I have done at least 33 paintings in the 16×20″ board frame and about 14 small scale paintings. I have more small scale paintings to do on this year as a project that I believe that can be published as an artbook. This summer has keep me pretty busy but artless based on my gardening schedule, shopping (food and art supplies) as well as relaxing from making art a bit. Now, I am going to start doing artwork until this year ends so watch for all that I do. I know I have a full plate with 2 to 3 other careers but art will and shall be the place my heart is at. I will try to blog more often as I do more art and I hope that all of you have a very blessed day 🙂

Leave a Reply

